6 Weeks to Something Else

It’s over…

So after 11 harrowing months, I am officially finished working for the charter school.

It is such a relief.

But also a little bit terrifying.

Unlike my coworkers who are moving on to grad school, new jobs, or renewing their contracts, my next move is a big fat question mark.

question-mark

And yesterday I was watching Gilmore Girls and I’m on season 7 and I was deeply identifying with Rory in this moment. (side note: my gosh the roller coaster ride I am going on with Lorelai and Rory, can you two please just make sound choices for once in your lives, also writers can’t you just let your characters be happy?)

902bf6e36331e532c1718d6c6aea3903

–Gilmore Girls, Season 7 Episode 7 “French Twist”

Which is perfectly true for Rory, but I’m sure she’ll soon discover as I did that that is exactly how life is. We control what we can (and try to control some things we cannot), and we make plans to the best of our ability, but that foggy abyss will always lie before us. Sometimes there is wonderful things beyond it and sometimes there are really hard things hidden in it’s depths. We just have to have faith and keep moving forward.

So now I’m unemployed and needing a job, but also grateful because I’d rather be unemployed then renewing my contract with the charter school. There is a lot of good at that school, some  incredible people worked there, and I pray the best for every last one of those kids. But it was sucking the life out of me, and that’s no way to work or to live.

Onward and Forward: Goal Time

So last night I was thinking back to my college days and how I was able to accomplish so much. It was planning and organizing and scheduling my time. So I wrote out the next 6 weeks (roughly the rest of summer) and have made some clear goals for myself that are a stretch, but also doable.

I’m going to share those goals here and also update the blog every so often (maybe every other week) about my progress.

The categories are: Writing, Prayer, Driving (yep that’s right, finally got my permit), Walking, and Job Searching.

Writing

My weekly goal for writing is 5 hours a week of writing along with publishing a blog post every Monday (of course I can blog more often than that, but getting back into a weekly habit I think is a good place to start). By the end of the 6 weeks I should have written 30 hours and published 6 blog posts (including this one!). 

Prayer

My weekly goal for prayer is simple: intentionally pray every day. I’ve scheduled a time to pray without interruptions for every day, but I’ve decided not to make time commitments. What’s important is that it becomes a daily rhythm more so than the time. By the end of the 6 weeks I should have 42 days of consecutive intentional time with the Lord. 

Driving

My weekly goal for driving is 1x a week. This one I’m not making demands like drive for an hour. The only expectation is that I will get in the car and drive, even if it’s only a minute I’m counting it. I know myself well, I knew once I worked up the courage to get my permit I would be practicing soon. I’m not one to sit on things once I decide to go for it. Learning to drive is purely for myself, I’m not doing it to make my husband’s life easier, for a job, or anything else.  I don’t even know if I’ll be comfortable being on the road for awhile, but just getting in the drivers seat and practicing moving around the car a bit is something I’m going to celebrate. By the end of the 6 weeks I will have driven the car 6 times. 

Walking

My weekly goal for walking is 20 minutes 3 times a week. I used to walk a ton, and I did have to walk a bit for my job, but I’ve gotten a bit lazy in this area. I know I’m capable of much more, but I want to accomplish all my goals over this 6 weeks so this goal is mainly to get back into the habit and hopefully I will far surpass this goal. By the end of the 6 weeks I will have walked 360 minutes (or 6 hours). 

Job Searching

My weekly goal for applying to jobs is 20. I think some weeks I’ll easily accomplish and surpass this, other weeks might have more challenges to it, but I felt like 20 is a pretty reasonable goal even when I had a lot going on, and totally doable when life is quieter. There always seem to be new admin jobs if nothing else. By the end of 6 weeks I will have applied to 120 jobs.

Now you!

What are your goals for the rest of the summer? You may not be unemployed (certainly hope not), but how can you use your free time to move towards a goal. Is there something you’ve always wanted to do, I find breaking it down to daily and weekly goals really keeps people focused on the big goal. If you’d like share your goals in the comments and we can cheer on each other through the next 6 weeks and beyond!

Glitter on!

Juanita

2 thoughts on “6 Weeks to Something Else

  1. Juanita, your goal setting is so inspiring! I agree, incorporating activities into a routine
    makes them happen; otherwise they get lost in all the other stuff we have to do #adulting. We enjoy many of the same activities (including obsessing over Rory’s existential crisis). Lovely to connect with you, a fellow writer who responds to list-making. When I decided to “level up” last year on a previous blog post, I met almost all my goals (including meal planning weekly since November…it changed Jason’s and my life). Now I’m getting a little lazy and should give myself more direction like you’re doing now. 5 hours of personal writing/week and 20 minutes 3 times a week of walking seems reasonable for me too. I’d also like to devote at least 20 hours/week to my writing job, which has been a challenge because I’m so tempted by the great outdoors (gardening, friends, walking, etc). Would you like to check in with each other on writing and walking?

Join the conversation

