Gratitude for marriage, for community, for another week gone.

I feel so out of sorts in my life.

Yesterday I was convinced one of my housemates was doing my chore for the week, when in fact I’d accidentally did part of their chore for the week, because I cannot remember anything.

Yesterday I fell asleep at 7 PM yes, 7 PM, because I was cuddling with my husband as he fell asleep for the night (he has good reason, he has to wake up at 2 AM for his 4 AM shift). Then I woke up in the middle of the night twice for close to two hours until finally waking up for the day around 7 AM.

lqhbn5

Yesterday I had to proctor for Saturday school. Once a month the kids come in to take ACT or MCAS practice exams. It was not fun, my whole body was exhausted from being on my feet the whole time, and they almost had a mutiny because the test went a little long.

635848767549592978599928139_tumblr_mlhuuf2gfo1qbiizto1_400

Today though I’m grateful for a full day off, for waking up feeling refreshed, and for my marriage.

That’s really what I want to talk about today. I’m not really one to gush about being married, to be honest I’m not one one to gush in general. Yesterday though after Saturday School the rest of the house was out enjoying Saturday (TAH was APPLE PICKING and yeah, I’ve already done that this year, but still). And we were doing our usual debate over dinner as I was working on some stuff on my computer.

One project I’ve been working on forever is a scrapbook of our first year, as you know it was a really good year when all was said and done. There were hard parts, still are, but so much goodness was added to our lives (especially in the form of our kitten, Mittens).

14361213_10201862333956428_7353032003105746927_o

Isn’t he just the cutest?

So we decided to get some dinner and hit the craft store to pick up a scrapbook for this project of mine (finally).

Yesterday was also full of moments to be grateful for my husband, and the life we’ve created together.

It’s in the conversation we had about police brutality and diversity and both of us feeling the weight of the world and our need for God.

It’s going to IHOP and simply being ourselves.

It’s quiet sweet kisses in the middle of the night that express so much love and affection without a single word.

It’s helping each other with chores, with life, with understanding what’s going on in our inner lives without judgement or condescension.

It’s holding each other as we fall asleep. Okay, that’s really rare, but it’s wonderful when it happens.

It’s having someone there who can say I’ve been there too, I’ve felt that too, and it’s going to be okay.

It’s knowing that you’re grateful for all you’ve built up, every little moment today, and only love and hope color the future for you even as you think, I really have no idea what the future will bring.

Basically I’m really grateful to my husband especially this past week. It was a really hard week (part of why I didn’t post anything) and having his support throughout was a gift. I’m also thankful to my housemates, my dear friends, my best people, and my family for listening, praying, and being there for me. I’m thankful. And now I hope to do some good writing and connect with some of you readers on my blog and yours.

All the best,

Juanita

2 thoughts on “Gratitude for marriage, for community, for another week gone.

Join the conversation

