Trying Not To Carry the World Myself

The past few weeks TAH’s (the awesome housemate) niece has been with us. She is five years old. She is full of whimsy, drama, and innocence. She can be a total pain and drain all my energy, but I absolutely love having her around.

Life doesn’t press on her. An adult or kid who’s willing to play with her, movies, and ice cream are pretty much all she needs. It’s so funny talking with her, playing Barbies with her, hearing her observations. She can be an over dramatic handful too, whenever “unfair” things happen she’s quick to whine how she never gets her way, she never gets her own space, she always has to do chores.

But at the end of the day she knows she is safe, loved, and cared for. She’s carefree.

13584876_10201600670615008_839330802322701008_o

It’s really hard to feel carefree as an adult. Sometimes I have it in moments, like when I was camping, the anxiety of day to day living was gone. I didn’t have a care in the world except for the people around me and the nature in front of me. Yet so much of that came back the second I stepped into home, the chores I had to step back into, getting some things sorted for my new job starting in a few weeks, reading the news again and having the chaos of the world flood over me again.

Being carefree as an adult has to intentional, but I think having a relationship with God enables us in some ways to be carefree. We’re imperfect and foolish enough to put the world on our shoulders, but in those moments when we can give all our worries unto God and live into the joy in the moment, we’re carefree.

And even for a moment it’s worth it. Of course we all have our responsibilities (the dishes don’t wash themselves, unfortunately), but we don’t have to always be concerned with them. We don’t even always have to be fighting the good fight in the realm of social justice. We don’t always have to read the latest news story and watch the latest disturbing video. Sometimes it’s more than okay to just get away and not carry the world (or even just your small part of the world) on your shoulders.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30 (NIV)

Sometimes our biggest concern of the moment should be what flavor of ice cream we’re going to eat.

13497691_10201549250329533_4698865582076554631_o

The world might seem big and scary, but God is bigger and more loving than anything we could possibly imagine. Those moments of being carefree can recharge us and refocus to doing the good work we were all created to do.

Loving God.

Loving Others.

Loving Ourselves.

 

*Photos are my own, first one was taken by my husband, second one was taken by me.*

 

4 thoughts on “Trying Not To Carry the World Myself

  1. I really love your post. It resonates with my thoughts for today. We all want to be carefree sometimes, but life puts a check on that. Despite life, it is not a crime to live one day at a time. It is not a crime to do a little everyday. You don’t have to shed all the weight tomorrow. You don’t have to always be unhappy just to keep others happy. If you do the impossible today, the boss will add more to your job description tomorrow. The industry will not collapse when you do. Everyone else is back to business in the morning after an evening of mourning. The world will go on without you even if it misses you. As you pointed out, there is a good reason not to carry the weight of the world upon our shoulders.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting! @ Yes, I really appreciate your thoughts on this! Especially your last point about the world will go on without you even if it misses you. None of us last forever, even if some of us are remembered for a long time. I think our dying means we really should take moments to enjoy life because it is fleeting. In the end the world will go on, we should enjoy and do our best with each day and let go of the rest.

Join the conversation

