#AdultingAdventures: Social Media

All Social Media Everything

So perhaps social media isn’t sequestered only to adults (technically anyone 13 and up can make an account on the major social medias), but I think it’s extremely prevalent in our lives especially as post college grads and general 20 somethings.

I’m pretty weak on my Instagram game (not to mention it’s a super private account) and Facebook is basically a tool to keep in touch with far away friends/family, keep track of everybody from school who’s getting married or pregnant, and find/articles about sexism, Christian living, literature, and the latest celebrity deaths. So highly useful. Then of course there’s this blog, which I love.

The reason I was thinking of social media is because I read this really interesting article on A Practical Wedding: What I Didn’t Post on Facebook for Mother’s Day. It’s a really thoughtful piece, but what stood out to me was a comment from a reader that said basically, I adore my mother, but our relationship isn’t Instagram worthy. That pretty much sums up how I feel about my whole life.

Social media has it’s perks and joys (I really do love blogging and the relationships I’ve slowly been building through it), but there’s also so much pressure to put it all out there.

“If a girl goes out, but she doesn’t post a picture of it, did she actually go out?”

If you didn’t post pictures about it, did it really matter? Here’s a hilarious video to further my point.

I think about this especially in relation to my marriage. When we were dating I refused to post that we were dating for close to three months. To be fair this is partially because I wasn’t taking the relationship seriously, but also because I didn’t feel like it was anyone’s business. If they needed to know they would. I proceeded to do the same when we got engaged. Which I highly recommend it was so fun to tell people in person first. Especially since we didn’t really have an amazing story or even a ring, but I felt the pressure even from S, ironically since he uses FB less than I do. Everyone needed to know though, so eventually it got out there.

It’s hard to get away from it

FB is such a part of life that we think people who aren’t on it are kind of strange.

Some fun facts about FB:

  • Worldwide, there are over 1.65 billion monthly active Facebook users
  • Age 25 to 34, at 29.7% of users, is the most common age demographic
  • Every 60 seconds on Facebook: 510 comments are posted, 293,000 statuses are updated, and 136,000 photos are uploaded.

Stats taken from Zephoria

Though Facebook can also lead to anxiety. I know personally I am so quick to play the comparison game to think less of my life when I see how seemingly wonderful other people’s lives look. Forgetting in the moment that I actively choose not to share the majority of my life, and that no one puts all of their life on social media. It’s also hard to look at when it seems like every other person is getting engaged, a promotion, a baby, going on amazing date nights, and essentially living an amazing life. It’s easy to forget that right after that adorable photo was taken the baby started to cry. That epic couple fights and bickers just like you and your husband do. That amazing vacation cost a LOT of money and you have different priorities.

At the end of the day though, I’m glad for how I use social media. I get connected to other writers and get to share my voice through my blog. My Facebook keeps me in touch with others and helps me to find good things to read. And Instagram, ummm I guess it’s fun (okay I basically got it because my best friend LOVES it and I have a smart phone now). The rest of the time: I’m praying, journaling, having breakfast with my husband, having friends over for dinner, celebrating, doing laundry (and all the damn chores that NEVER end), writing, working, making plans, taking practice drivers tests, reading, I’m living my life. Perhaps I’ll get more into social media as the years go on (and perhaps my career moves demand it), until then I’m going to enjoy the sunshine, cute dresses, and time with my husband sans social media. Now without any irony I’m going to publish this blog cause it may be a weak game, but I still got some.

What’s your relationship to social media?

What’s your feelings on Facebook?

Is having a social media essential to modern living, especially for those of us starting out in the work force?

 

 

Join the conversation

