Silence

So I’m part of this 31 day challenge, I’ll write on a new topic every day . I hope to focus them around the theme of my blog (life after college), and hope that through these unique words/topics I’ll add some more glitter to the world, inspiration to myself and others, and have some fun. You can learn more about it here.


I am very familiar with silence.

There’s the rich lovely silence of a moonlit night when the stars fill up the sky and take your breath away.

There’s the comfortable silence of sitting with someone you love and just enjoying the simple fact that you are together.

There’s the silence of many heads bowing and seeking the Lord’s face.

The silence of being alone in the house (interestingly enough, I’ve found this silence to be comforting and creepy at different times, when it’s creepy, I usually blast music)

There’s the silence when the tension and stress is so thick in the air and you’re so afraid to break because you fear whatever you say next will only make things worse.

The silence of someone you counted on and leaned on who just fades out of your life and you reach out and all you get in return is…silence.

As you might have guessed all those silences have occurred in my life. Some silences as you can imagine are quite enjoyable, others not so much. It’s so strange how silence in a relationship can mean so much, depending on the context, silence is comfort, joy, and ease; other times it’s heavy, overwhelming, and tense.

I hate breaking a silence negative or positive, but especially the negative silence. I’m always so fearful in that moment. Fearful I’ll be rejected, fearful that we will never overcome the tension, fearful I’m going to screw things up even further. I hope in my marriage, I have way more silences of peace and comfort. Peaceful silence I think is a secret to some of what ails this world. If we could just sit in our own thoughts, sit and enjoy nature, sit and simply listen to the beautiful silence I think so much of our stress would just wash away.

There are times when I’m just stressed and wired and developing a headache and realize that I haven’t just sat in the silence. I’ve been rushing around with people and noise all day and what I really need to do is sit and breathe in the silence. So for all my post grads going full throttle into life, don’t forget to just sit in the silence and be grateful for this moment, for this life, for this breath.

Join the conversation

