Temporary

So I’m part of this 31 day challenge, I’ll write on a new topic every day . I hope to focus them around the theme of my blog (life after college), and hope that through these unique words/topics I’ll add some more glitter to the world, inspiration to myself and others, and have some fun. You can learn more about it here.


Sometimes it’s really hard to keep this word in perspective. When you’re going through struggles, when the loneliness seems crushing, when you’re sick, whatever it is sometimes it’s hard to keep in mind that it’s temporary. Nothing truly lasts. Except perhaps love. Which just puts life into even sharper perspective. If your life is so brief (even though for the majority of readers life ahead feels so long, like it’s so far away for when I’ll be a grandmother), you better do your best to enjoy and live life.

What are you spending your time on? Pursue the passions on your heart, spend time with the people you love, love unmercifully and respect when people don’t want you in their lives (cause trust me, it’s their loss). Respect who you are. I know times in my life when I wished so strongly I was someone else that I liked doing different things that certain people would like me. You know what though, I’m a nerd I like spending time at home. I find a lot of satisfaction from cooking breakfast for my husband and just sitting and talking with him. I love going to church. I want to use my brains to write and benefit youth. My favorite times of days are mealtimes, but still beyond breakfast can’t get excited about cooking. I like taking long walks and summer days. I’m me in all my beautiful glory and I hope that all my uniqueness quietly points to the One who is never temporary, but an ever present constant, Holy God.

So remember that this is temporary, make the most of it. This is temporary, things will not always be this hard. This is temporary, but what’s next is so eternal I cannot even fathom it. Invest well in this life. Love well in this life.

Don’t be afraid to spread lots and lots of glitter (cause everybody knows glitter never ever dies, you’ll find bits of glitter for months after using a just tiny bit of it).

Juanita

Join the conversation

