Honor

So I’m part of this 31 day challenge, I’ll write on a new topic every day . I hope to focus them around the theme of my blog (life after college), and hope that through these unique words/topics I’ll add some more glitter to the world, inspiration to myself and others, and have some fun. You can learn more about it here.


According to the Webster-Merriam dictionary honor means:

: respect that is given to someone who is admired

: good reputation : good quality or character as judged by other people

: high moral standards of behavior

The first thing I thought of with this word was my husband. One of the things I promised to do for my husband was to honor him (don’t worry, he promised the same thing to me). And one of the things I thought about was how we argue. Over the weekend a handful of people remarked on are arguing (some people were gracious enough to just let us sort it our among ourselves, thank you), because you know hearing people argue no matter how they do it is uncomfortable (and I won’t even try to pretend that we do it perfectly). What I find though is even in the midst of our bickering there is great love. You will often find us close to each other and even when we’re being stubborn and can’t understand each other, at our heart we do want to work as a team, we want what is best for one another. We don’t name call, we don’t scream at each other, we do our best to keep it between the two of us, and every argument ends with “I love you” often followed by “I’m sorry for being such a stubborn ass.”

And the more we practice the better we get at communicating. And while I could do with a little less misunderstanding, I’m so proud of how hard we try, as I’ve often said we aim for a BS free relationship. We speak our minds and well when you have two very different minds speaking it may take some work to come to agreement/understanding.

I honor him by keeping our arguments between us, by not complaining about him to my friends and family, by treating him well in the midst of our arguments, and by not hiding my truth. He does the same by me.

I think one day we’ll get to a point where we can simply talk through things, no arguing, no bickering, no stubborn head butting, until then I’m thankful we do our best to honor each other. So I apologize if you ever take a car ride with us and we start snapping about where we’re going to eat later (or whatever it is), we’re still figuring it out. No matter how awkward you might feel don’t be surprised if we’re glaring at each other as we hold hands. Don’t be surprised that once we have a breather the first words out of our mouths are, “I love you,” or “I’m sorry”.

We strive to love each other in the way that God loves us and while God, probably wouldn’t snap at you for not doing that thing I asked you to do three times already, God would certainly pull you in for a big hug and say “I forgive you.”

So that’s what we are doing in our marriage in big and small ways, how do you honor those around you? How do you honor others in the midst of the messy parts of life?

One thought on “Honor

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Writing: Daily Glitter | Post Graduate Glitter

Join the conversation

