Ready

So I’m part of this 31 day challenge, I’ll write on a new topic every day . I hope to focus them around the theme of my blog (life after college), and hope that through these unique words/topics I’ll add some more glitter to the world, inspiration to myself and others, and have some fun. You can learn more about it here.


I’ve never really felt ready for anything. The metaphor of my life that just clicks is being on an unexpected journey. You’re never really ready for it, you just find out your destiny, you’re giving a task, or really you’re just in the “right” place so off you go.

I think of how I’m a married woman now. When I started my college career I wasn’t ready to be married. Now, at the school I went to, many women (and men) aspire to get married, of course their first intention is to do well and succeed in school, but if they can also find a spouse, well why would they say no to what God has for them.

Me on the other hand marriage was the last thing on my mind. I was hoping to date, I thought I was ready enough for that. To be perfectly honest I think God knew exactly what he was doing, because if I’d gotten a clear message from God that S was supposed to be my husband I would have doubted it and told God he had to be wrong. Because as much as S was looking for a wife (and yes, yes he most certainly was), he was not husband material at that point, but hey I wasn’t fit to be a wife at that point. We had to journey together and we kept crossing milestones, strengthening our communication, and the key: drawing closer to God. So now despite how things started we are married.

Sometimes I think you just have to be willing to invest and dive in. You don’t have to be ready to write a book, have a kid, or start a blog. Sometimes all you need is faith and some opportunity. That’s all you need to be “ready”. I mean I still don’t think I’m ready for life after college, but here I am, married, working, pursuing God, and living in the greatest city in the world (and if you thought of NYC or Paris first, shame on you, the answer is always Boston).

I’m ready as I’ll ever be for whatever happens next and with God on my side, I really am prepared for anything.

All the glitter,

Juanita

One thought on “Ready

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Writing: Daily Glitter | Post Graduate Glitter

Join the conversation

