Home

So I’m part of this 31 day challenge, I’ll write on a new topic every day . I hope to focus them around the theme of my blog (life after college), and hope that through these unique words/topics I’ll add some more glitter to the world, inspiration to myself and others, and have some fun. You can learn more about it here.


Home for 18 years was my home with my family. I ate my meals there, I laughed there, I cried there. It was the epicenter of my life. I had friends and groups I was a part of, but without hesitation I would have told you my family and my home are the most important stuff of life (after God of course).

Then I went to my private Christian college, and I had some of the best 4 years of my life, in a very different way I found home. I created richer deeper friendships than I’d ever had before, I spent way more time on campus (despite commuting) than at home during the school year. I ate my meals there, I laughed there, I cried there. It was home. And of course this was where I met S.

S and I though we are in a unique living situation are creating home. This place started feeling like home about 4 months ago, it was getting me sad to think I was leaving these people this place. And now we’re here for another year creating our own unique home. And I love it. I’m finding my own unique routines, I have my people, we share meals together, we laugh, we cry.

I don’t think home has to be a place, but we all need it so much especially us post-grads. Especially because this time of life is SO much transition, and nothing quite like any of us expected. Things that always go perfectly, for me home is that place of solace you can always go back to, or best of all you return to every night. That’s why I know that no matter what place we are in S, himself will always be home and family. I haven’t had many homes in my short life, but they have been so rich and meaningful and in each of their own ways have been a place I could be myself, be with my favorite people, and grow up in and be known, loved, and forgiven.

One thought on “Home

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Writing: Daily Glitter | Post Graduate Glitter

Join the conversation

