Family

So I’m part of this 31 day challenge, I’ll write on a new topic every day . I hope to focus them around the theme of my blog (life after college), and hope that through these unique words/topics I’ll add some more glitter to the world, inspiration to myself and others, and have some fun. You can learn more about it here.


I have about a billion thoughts when it comes to family.

My first thought was this:

And also how much I really desire that my friends would be like family.

And how much I love my family.

And how integral family or a sense of family is when you leave college.

That S and I are now our own little family.

I had a really solid home life growing up over all, there were issues, but what Christian family doesn’t have issues, or really any family?

I’ve always felt that family was the most solid thing you could have in life. Family always had to let you in, they wouldn’t ever leave you behind, they forgave you unconditionally, and they loved you even when they didn’t like you. Friends, yeah your friends loved you, sure, but breakups could happen, friends got flaky when times got rough, but friends as I’ve found can also be family.

I have one friend who is like a sister to me. Literally. I can message her or call her anytime and she’s there for me. She’s proven love crosses oceans and she’ll always do her best to keep tabs on my life even if the only way she can do so is through letters.

Then of course there is the play I was in, all that women bonding counted for something. I do feel we came out like family, but more like that awkward extended family. We love each other fiercely would give up anything for each other, but maybe we only see each other at major events or when we’re being really intentional. Plus the loving without always liking is true. At the end of the day, their my sisters though and they’ll pray for me and have my back whenever I need them.

And then there is S, I knew he was perfect for me when he came to love my family as his own and when being with him felt like family.

I really love that Lilo and Stitch quote, I have often felt left behind, literally and figuratively, and sometimes I can be so focused on those who won’t be the friends or family I want to them to be. Of course it’s important to cultivate new friendships and relationships, but sometimes the best thing you can do is go to your family, the people who just get you, the people who never leave you behind. Ohana.

All the glitter,

Juanita

Join the conversation

