Seek the Snitch

So my word for 2015 is seek.  Which makes a lot of sense, because I feel like I am in the midst of and heading into some big adventures/journeys.

What does 2015 entail:

  • New faith journey: This is still unclear if it means a new church, new lessons, or what, but God is pulling me into new territory, and I think I’m ready for it.
  • Getting married: No matter what the naysayers say.
  • Women in the Bible: This play we have been working on all last semester is finally coming to fruition.
  • New Career: I’m getting the feeling my time with Miss J and working for my Alma mater is over soon, maybe even before this semester is through, but I think I needed those jobs to get some guidance on where to move forward in my professional life.

So what are my wise words for today?

Don’t be afraid. Lean into the journey. Really lean in. Always take that next step forward, even if the steps are small. Seek, but also don’t be so busy seeking that you totally miss out on what’s going on right now. It’s a weird balance–seeking, moving forward, while also being fully present in the moment. Which is exactly what you do when you seek. When you seek you’re looking for something specific. It’s not an mindless journey.

Like Harry Potter as the Quidditch seeker, his goal is to find the golden snitch. He has to pay attention to what’s going on around him, probably more than anyone else, he’s fully in the moment so when he gets a whiff of the snitch, he has it.

“Harry was speeding toward the ground when the crowd saw him clap his hand to his mouth as though he was going to be sick-he hit the field on all fours-coughed-and something gold fell into his hand.
‘I’ve got the snitch!’ he shouted, waving it above his head, and the game ended in complete confusion.”-J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone 

Seeking has an end goal, a focus. Seek the Lord with all your heart. Seek wisdom, seek understanding. Seek your friend in hide-and-go-seek. Seek.

Let’s keep focused on the journey, enjoy the ride, and seek till we find exactly what we’re looking for.

Okay, I think that’s enough metaphors and Harry Potter for one post.

Glitter on!

Juanita

One thought on “Seek the Snitch

  1. Pingback: 2015, Good times, old chum | Post Graduate Glitter

Join the conversation

