Post-Thanksgiving

It’s been a very interesting week to say the least, I finally am going to update the blogging world a major transition is happening for me-I’m moving! From my parent’s home to a place of my own, well, with roommates, I’ll be moving in with friends of one of my best college friends. And I am so excited 🙂

And as Thanksgiving is now behind us, Turkey leftovers are in the fridge (along with the gravy, mashed potatoes, green beans, rolls, mac and cheese, and all the many pies unless you kept it simple and put it in one container), I am reflecting about this year and what I am thankful for.

The post graduate life is so tricky, every decision feels so big and there are many: should I continue my education? Should I take this job? Should I hold out for something better? Why does every job need more experience than I could possibly have? What do I want to do with my life? Should I date this person? Should I even be considering marriage? Who are the people I should keep in my life? Will I ever move out of my parent’s house? And: What is God’s desire for my life?

As I’m approaching moving and have already hit upon some major milestones in the last 6 months: getting into a serious relationship, graduating college, getting engaged, starting my post-college work life, and now moving out of my parent’s home, I am so thankful for the opportunities in my life and God’s clear hand in everything. And in my gratitude I want to help those who are going through their own major life transitions and offer advice on how I’ve handled them.

Pray. I know some of my readers may not be practicing Christians, but I know God is active in our world. More than asking him to make things happen, I pray for wisdom, grace, discretion, and that love would guide all I do. More than anything I just talk. Talk about my feelings, talk about what he thinks is best, and when all else fails I thank him that I have the opportunity because that is something to be grateful for.

Read the Bible. The words of the saints who have had to make major decisions can guide you in your own decision making. Think about it: Abraham moved to an TBD location, Esther risked her life for her people, Moses had to go back home, and even Jesus chose to be a Rabbi rather than follow in his father’s profession.

Talk to your loved ones. Don’t feel like you have to go through any of this alone. We were meant to be people of community and to learn from others mistakes and victories. Your parents do actually know a thing or two. Talk to those you trust and talk to people who can give you a variety of perspectives. Don’t be afraid to talk to your friend who’s going through similar things as well as your aunt who’s very established in life.

Get counseling. Seriously if you are just having issues as you are making major life transitions get some professional help. There is no shame in saying I am not handling things well. There is no shame with equipping yourself better for change and life transitions. I went into counseling in the weeks leading up to graduation, and I would do it again. Seriously.

Take care of yourself. Sleep, exercise, and good eating habits, go a long way for making life in general and major transitions that much easier. Cranky, lethargic, hungry people don’t make good decisions and worse they don’t handle stress well. So remember get your sleep, it could save your life.

Of course there’s more that can be done when facing a major life transition (and sometimes taking some time away from the transition and watching a funny video is the best thing you can do), but these are practices I have leaned on in the midst of a major transition. Too bad there isn’t someone who can do all my packing for me.

As the holiday season approaches and we’re still all trying to figure out moving through life and being the people we want to be don’t forget, you’re not alone and it’s totally okay to have that chocolate chip cookie.

Glitter on!

Juanita

Join the conversation

