Ferguson: Food for Thought

It’s been a week of change and chaos here in America.

The case involving Ferguson police officer, Darren Wilson, was not indicted.

And social media (if my Facebook is any indication) was impassioned by this news, and protests and walks of solidarity were held all over the country when the news came out.

The reactions give me pause, violent protests that involve, fighting, rioting, and fires. Flamed Facebook interactions when some people have voiced agreement with the jury. While I don’t wish to say much on the issue, I’ll leave that to other people, I care. Yet, we must not resort to chaos and brutality. We cannot fall to name calling and dehumanizing of the jury and those who stand behind them. Violence and rioting won’t result in any good in a situation like this.

You cannot drive out hate with more hate. The only thing that can overcome is love and peace. Not in a cheesy way, mind you. In a God way, because perfect love, is an unstoppable force for change, I have seen this as true in a variety of issues in my life and others.

And for those like me who are moving out of the learning and training period of their life and into the shaping and working period, I wonder what kind of world we are creating, I wonder if we are truly using this as a chance to shape the dialogue around these issues and create a better world for all people or simply using it as a place to voice our hatred and anger that makes us feel better, but can only create more chaos.

“God pays attention to our love. Not one of us is indispensable.

God has the means to do all things and to do away with the work of the most capable human being. We can work until we drop. We can work excessively. I what we do is not connected to love, however, our work is useless in God’s eyes.”-Mother Teresa

My heart goes out to my country and the people of Ferguson, God bless.

Join the conversation

