If not me, who? if not now, when?

So I watched Emma Watson’s UN speech and like everyone else I thought it was phenomenal. Just the mere fact that she gave that speech with such strength and poise when she was clearly nervous makes me want to applaud her.

And while I don’t really get what this campaign will actually do,

It was great.

What really stuck with me though was her last thoughts, why she had to speak for this campaign HeforShe.

If not me, who? If not now, when?

It is a thought that is constantly on my mind. I firmly believe I was created for a unique purpose. Unique being a relative term.

I am the only one who can live my life.

I aspire to do what I was uniquely created for. The things I need to write, the words I need to speak, the people I need to love, etc.

She spoke about gender equality and it just made me think. What is the thing that gets my heart soaring? What would I speak passionately on if I only had 10 minutes of time? I’m not sure.

Being a Christian is who I am. I can’t really separate myself from my faith. I wouldn’t be me without it. Perhaps I would passionately speak of God and his/her vibrant constant love for us.

Yet, if I had to choose a “thing” to talk about: racism, gender equality, education, gratitude, growing up, love, adoption, sponsoring children, homelessness, literacy, the list goes on and on I’m not sure I could do it. Beyond reading, writing, and loving each and every day to my fullest capability I haven’t found a hearts passion. I haven’t found my cause that I must pursue now. Because sometimes I see all the things to be an advocate for and I give a little money and then I get overwhelmed. Yet I am starting to see themes. Starting to see the things I read or hear about that get my blood flowing, starting to think maybe this thing comes up in my life because I need to pursue it passionately. This is one of those things I was uniquely created for.

So what are the things in your life. The passions you pursue because when you hear this question:

If not me, who? If not now, when?

You know the answer is me, now.

Glitter on,

Juanita

Join the conversation

