Passion

I am in that weird and wonderful place where I have a lot of free time on my hands. I want to be doing more (how much I would love to have a full time job), but for now I have a tiny job (it’s barely part time) and a lot of spare time.

I’m going to do the practical things I should do with that time: apply to jobs, get my drivers permit, go to the doctors (regular check up), spend time with friends and family, and work on my writing. Still there’s lots of time.

So I’m looking for something to fill me with passion. I’m going to get more involved helping out my church. I want to find a way to volunteer my time perhaps helping others with writing, reading, or just giving of my time and labor. 

Until I have a full time job my time is open, I have lots of energy (which means I walk a lot and am frequently restless), and I feel that God really wants me to use this time wisely. Which is better than what I tend to want to do with my free time: worry, watch Netflix, and sleep. 

So less time on facebook (because I am way too jealous and confused to look at other’s lives rationally), more time doing, and finding something I can do for a couple hours a week that is completely giving to someone/something else. I’m sure someone could use a college graduate with spare time on her hands. Now I just have to find it. 

What are you doing? Either those who have recently graduated or those who find time to give to others in the midst of life’s busyness, how are you giving back? What gives your life richness? How do you get outside of yourself? 

There is so much richness in all of life as Christians, even just having breakfast with family somehow comes holy, but I want to do something a little more. I’m ready for the next adventure.

Let’s all find our unique way to glitter.

Juanita

Join the conversation

