I Actually Got an Education or Thoughts on Using My Degree

“What are you doing next?”

“Have you started applying for jobs?”

“What are you going to do with that degree?”

As well meaning and simply curious these questions can be, sometimes they miss the point. I do not have a full time career fresh out of college, but from day one I have been applying my degree to my life. I am richer because of my education.

Through my writing courses I have developed as a communicator and writer. My education has brought me to a point where, I feel, I actually have something substantial enough with which I can maintain a blog.

Through my general education courses I have a greater understanding of how the world is. I know how to analyze new information for truth, take in what I have learned, and help educate others.

Through my own struggles as a student and experience as a tutor I have a deepened appreciation for education and its ability to change lives.

I have learned to ask questions when too-good-to-be-true answers are given.

I have learned the importance of how every day big and little choices make a difference for myself and my neighbor.

I have learned to share my voice; especially for those whose voices are silenced.

Out of the world’s population 6.7% have a college degree. Being a part of that minority, I believe I have a responsibility to use my education to serve my neighbor, no matter how small it may look to others.

Ultimately, it is impossible to know exactly how my education has made a difference in the choices I’ve made and the actions I’ve taken.

But I know that it has.

I have always believed that the pursuit of education is an act of worship. My formal education (for now) is complete. When I think about how God will use my education to bless others in big and small ways, I am overwhelmed and humbled that He chose me.

From homeschooling my future children to being able to write in a way that incites others to deep thought and life changing action, it is clear my education matters. We often talk about getting degrees in America to get a better job. More than improving my financial and career opportunities, education empowers me to use my skills and abilities to improve the lives of others.

I may never use my degree in the way people expect, but I will use my degree every single day, the way God intended, and that is why these past four years mattered no matter how the rest of my life goes.

Join the conversation

